Fibre discs

A high stock removal rate combined with a long service life and an optimum grinding pattern are the requirements placed on fibre discs in the production plants. Fibre discs are roughly comparable to grinding flap discs and roughing discs.

We will be pleased to advise you which fibre discs can be used in your machining process to achieve maximum performance.

Applications

The application of fibre discs is manifold. Due to their excellent suitability, they are used today in companies for (very) coarse grinding work, for derusting metal parts, for deburring and for processing welding seams. Almost all materials (metal, stainless steel, steel, cast iron, non-ferrous metal, wood, plastic, stone and marble) can be processed very well with fibre discs. Thanks to the wide range of grit sizes, it is also possible to finish metals with fibre discs.

Picard tip:
Please do not process different types of steel with the same fibre disc. This can lead to rust formation, as traces of material can settle between the grains of the fibre disc and be transferred by grinding.

Advantages

Advantages of fibre discs compared to abrasive flap discs and roughing discs:

  • Better surface adaptability
    Due to the elasticity of the fibre disc, it can adapt much better to the surfaces to be machined than, for example, a rigid roughing disc.
  • better microsection
    The grinding pattern or the surface on the workpiece to be machined is better with fiber discs than with a roughing disc.
  • Vibration-free working
    In the grinding process with a fibre disc, the “softer” structure already absorbs the vibrations that occur during grinding, while the vibrations of abrasive flap discs and roughing discs are strongly passed on to the user. With fibre discs, fatigue-free working is possible in this respect.
  • Cost-effective
    Fibre discs are considerably more cost-effective than grinding flap discs and roughing discs. Fibre discs are ultimately “only” round punched abrasives. Fibre discs as well as flap discs and grinding discs benefit from the fact that they are easy to handle. There are hardly any set-up times for changing the fibre discs.

Dimensions

Diameter: Ø100, Ø115, Ø125, Ø150, Ø180, Ø235 (available with various hole patterns)

Grit size: Normal corundum, silicon carbide, zirconium corundum, ceramic, diamond, CBN

Abrasive grain: 16, 24, 30, 36, 40, 50, 60, 80, 100, 120, 150, 180, 220, 240, 320

Fiberscheiben

Eine hohe Abtragsleistung bei gleichzeitig hoher Standzeit und optimalem Schliffbild sind die Anforderungen an Fiberscheiben in den Betrieben. Fiberscheiben sind dabei ungefähr mit Schleiflamellentellern und Schruppscheiben vergleichbar.

Wir beraten Sie gerne, welche Fiberscheiben in Ihrem Bearbeitungsprozess eingesetzt werden kann, um Höchstleistungen zu erzielen.

Anwendungen

Die Anwendung von Fiberscheiben ist vielfältig. Aufgrund ihrer hervorragenden Eignung werden sie heute in den Betrieben für (sehr) grobe Schleifarbeiten, zum Entrosten von Metallteilen, zum Entgraten und für die Bearbeitung von Schweißnähten eingesetzt. Fast alle Werkstoffe (Metall, Edelstahl, Stahl, Guss, NE-Metall, Holz, Kunststoff, Stein und Marmor) können mit Fiberscheiben sehr gut bearbeitet werden. Dank der breiten Körnungspalette kann auch eine Feinbearbeitung von Metallen mit Fiberscheiben durchgeführt werden.

Picard-Tipp:
Bitte bearbeiten Sie nicht unterschiedliche Stahlsorten mit der gleichen Fiberscheibe. Dies kann zur Rostbildung führen, da sich zwischen den Körnern der Fiberscheibe Spuren von Material festsetzen können und durch das Schleifen übertragen werden.

Vorteile

Vorteile von Fiberscheiben gegenüber Schleiflamellentellern und Schruppscheiben:

  • Bessere Anpassungsfähigkeit an die Oberfläche
    Durch die Elastizität der Fiberscheibe kann sich diese an die zu bearbeitenden Oberflächen viel besser anpassen, als beispielsweise eine starre Schruppscheibe.
  • Besseres Schliffbild
    Das Schliffbild bzw. die Oberfläche auf dem zu bearbeitenden Werkstück ist bei Fiberscheiben besser als bei der Bearbeitung mit einer Schruppscheibe.
  • Schwingungsfreies Arbeiten
    Beim Schleifprozess mit einer Fiberscheibe werden durch den “weicheren” Aufbau die auftretenden Schwingungen beim Schleifen bereits absorbiert, während die Schwingungen bei Schleiflamellentellern und Schruppscheiben stark an den Anwender weitergegeben werden. Mit Fiberscheiben ist diesbezüglich ein ermüdungsfreies Arbeiten möglich.
  • Kostengünstig
    Fiberscheiben sind im Vergleich zu Schleiflamellentellern und Schruppscheiben wesentlich kostengünstiger. Fiberscheiben sind letztendlich “nur” rund gestanzte Schleifmittel. Sowohl Fiberscheiben, als auch Schleiflamellentellern und Schruppscheiben kommt zugute, dass ein einfaches Handling möglich ist. So sind kaum Rüstzeiten für das Wechseln der Fiberscheibe vorhanden.

Abmessungen

Durchmesser: Ø100, Ø115, Ø125, Ø150, Ø180, Ø235 (mit verschiedensten Lochmustern lieferbar)

Schleifkorn: Normalkorund, Siliciumcarbid, Zirkonkorund, Keramik, Diamant, CBN

Körnungen: 16, 24, 30, 36, 40, 50, 60, 80, 100, 120, 150, 180, 220, 240, 320