Leather rollers FAPI-BRIGHT

The demands of customers for the surface quality of steel strips becoming increasingly high and companies in the steel strip industry are therefore under ever-greater pressure. We have worked in cooperation with these manufacturers to develop a completely new tool, in order to meet with the increased demands and achieve high quality fulfilment of these.

As such, many companies in the steel strip industry are working today with our leather rollers FAPI-BRIGHT and thereby attaining the optimum surface finish on their product.

Product features

  • Best leather qualities
    The leather roller FAPI-BRIGHT is produced from two leather components, so-called vegetable tanned leather and chrome tanned leather. In our house only top quality leather with optimum characteristics is processed. The vegetable tanned leather has a higher tannin content and therefore a leather substance of between 38 and 46 percent. In contrast, the chrome tanned leather can exhibit a leather substance of up to 72 percent. When compared with the vegetable tanned leather it possesses double the tear resistance strength. However, it is also lighter because the chromium salts used for tanning do not fill the skin. The tannin only accounts for up to 4 % of the leather weight, whilst vegetable tanned leather exhibits a tannin content of 20 percent.
  • Ideal composition
    Within the framework of a specially developed process the leather for the leather rollers FAPI-BRIGHT is prefabricated with the optimum dimensions (width, thickness, height) – these variables have a decisive influence on the subsequent overall process. If incorrect dimensions are employed here then this has an immediate effect on the results of the processing.
  • Optimum surfaces
    When using the leather rollers FAPI-BRIGHT one attains optimum surface qualities. These can naturally be decisively influenced in accordance with customer wishes, both by the leather roller and by the process parameters.
  • Long service lives
    The leather rollers FAPI-BRIGHT have very long service lives. Through constant further development, on the basis of experience values obtained in practice, is has been possible to further optimise the service lives

Applications

The figure below is a systematic diagram showing the application of the leather rollers. The figure shows a simplified principle setup of the processing devices. The steel strips are fed to a polishing chamber – predominantly directly from the coil. In this grinding/polishing chamber one leather roller is installed at the top and another at the bottom. These achieve the desired grinding/polishing effect during subsequent processing. Emery with the required grain is fed in by means of compressed air via the blower unit, which is installed at the opening on the top side of the grinding/polishing chamber. This is divided both over the rotating leather rollers and the steel strip. The finer the emery, the finer the subsequent surface finish on the steel strips. Decisive variables influential on the processing are the steel strip feed, the cutting speed of the leather rollers and the correct dosing of the emery feed.  These three parameters must be precisely tailored to each other, in order to attain an optimum surface finish:

Dimensions

Due to predominantly tailored customer systems we adapt our leather rollers FAPI-BRIGHT to the respective process characteristics in terms of diameter, width and hole.

Lederwalzen FAPI-BRIGHT

Durch immer höher werdende Ansprüche der Kunden bezüglich der Oberflächenqualität von Bandstählen, werden die Firmen in der Bandstahl-Industrie immer mehr unter Zugzwang gesetzt. In Zusammenarbeit mit diesen Herstellern haben wir ein neuartiges Werkzeug entwickelt, um den gestiegenen Ansprüchen gerecht zu werden und diese qualitativ hochwertig zu erfüllen.

So arbeiten viele Betriebe in der Bandstahl-Industrie heute mit unseren Lederwalzen FAPI-BRIGHT und schaffen somit ein optimales Oberflächenfinish für ihr Produkt.

Produkteigenschaften

  • Beste Lederqualitäten
    Die Lederwalze FAPI-BRIGHT ist aus zwei Lederkomponenten, dem sogenannten pflanzlich gegerbten (lohgaren) und dem chromgegerbten Leder aufgebaut. Dabei werden in unserem Hause nur hochwertigste Leder-Qualitäten verarbeitet. Das pflanzlich gegerbte Leder hat einen höheren Gerbstoffgehalt und somit eine Ledersubstanz von 38 bis 46 Prozent. Das chromgegerbte Leder dagegen kann bis zu 72 Prozent Ledersubstanz aufweisen. Gegenüber dem pflanzlich gegerbten Leder besitzt es eine doppelt so hohe Reißfestigkeit. Dabei ist es allerdings leichter, weil die zum Gerben verwendeten Chromsalze die Haut nicht füllen. Der Gerbstoff macht nur bis zu 4% des Ledergewichts aus, während lohgahres Leder einen Gerbstoffgehalt von 20 Prozent aufweist.
  • Idealer Aufbau
    Das Leder für die Lederwalzen FAPI-BRIGHT wird mit eigens dafür entwickelten Verfahren auf die idealen Abmessungen (Breite, Dicke, Höhe) – die entscheidende Einflussgröße auf den späteren Gesamtprozess – konfektioniert. Werden hier falsche Abmessungen eingesetzt, wirkt sich dies sofort auf das Ergebnis des Bearbeitungsprozesses aus.
  • Optimale Oberflächen
    Beim Einsatz der Lederwalzen FAPI-BRIGHT erhält man optimale Oberflächenqualitäten. Diese können natürlich kundenindividuell sowohl durch die Lederwalze, als auch durch Prozessparameter selbst, entscheidend beeinflusst werden.
  • Hohe Standzeiten
    Die Lederwalzen FAPI-BRIGHT haben sehr hohe Standzeiten. Durch ständige Weiterentwicklung anhand von Erfahrungswerten aus der Praxis konnte eine weitere Optimierung der Standzeiten erreicht werden.

Anwendungen

In untenstehender Abbildung ist der Einsatz der Lederwalzen systematisch aufgezeigt. Dabei ist der prinzipielle Aufbau der Vorrichtungen für den Bearbeitungsprozess einfach gestaltet. Der Bandstahl wird – zumeist direkt vom Coil – einer Polierkammer zugeführt. In dieser Schleif-/Polierkammer ist jeweils oben und unten eine Lederwalze installiert, die im späteren Bearbeitungsprozess den gewünschten Schleif-/Poliereffekt bewirkt. Über die Einblasvorrichtung, die an der Öffnung an der Oberseite der Schleif-/Polierkammer angebracht ist, wird Schmirgel mit der gewünschten Körnung mittels Druckluft eingebracht. Dieser verteilt sich sowohl auf den sich drehenden Lederwalzen als auch auf dem Bandstahl. Je feiner der Schmirgel, desto feiner auch das spätere Oberflächenfinish auf dem Bandstahl. Entscheidende Einflussgrößen für den Bearbeitungsprozess sind der Vorschub des Bandstahls, die Schnittgeschwindigkeit der Lederwalzen und die richtige Dosierung der Schmirgelzuführung. Diese drei Parameter müssen exakt aufeinander abgestimmt werden, um ein optimales Oberflächenfinish zu erzielen.

Abmessungen

Aufgrund der oftmals kundenindividuellen Anlagen, passen wir unsere Lederwalzen FAPI-BRIGHT bzgl. Durchmesser, Breite und Bohrung den Gegebenheiten an.