Return pulleys FAPI-SWITCH

With the newly developed FAPI-SWITCH series, we have succeeded in designing deflection pulleys in a lightweight system design with an unprecedented smoothness and smoothness of running that set new standards in the belt grinding process. Due to the flexibility, also with regard to different dimensions, belt elephant machines of all brands can be equipped with these deflection rollers.

Product features

  • System construction
    Our new type of return pulley is the first return pulley in a system construction, i.e. the components of the return pulley can be screwed together easily. In case of one part failing this can be exchanged very quickly by simply loosening the screw connections. For example, the complex “bushing” of the return pulley or complicated exchange of the bearings are now a thing of the past.
  • Quiet running and free movement
    Due to an intelligent bearing of the return pulley the quietest possible running and free movement during processing are guaranteed. Friction between the return pulley and its axle are minimised by the intelligent bearing. Additionally, all Picard return pulleys are dynamically balanced prior to dispatch and this also contributes considerably to the running quietness and free movement of the return pulley.
    From a design perspective it is necessary to consider that the return pulley is closed flush on both sides. The grinding dust that is produced during the belt grinding process cannot collect inside the return pulley due to this design and is therefore unable to cause any imbalance.
  • Light design
    Our return pulleys are produced exclusively from high quality aluminium. The use of aluminium results in an enormous weight reduction in the construction of the return pulleys. Less weight or pressure on the bearings of return pulleys and machines leads to an extended service life of the systems. An additional advantage of the aluminium design is that the return pulleys comply with the specifications of BGR 109 (brushing, grinding and polishing of aluminium) and can therefore be used for aluminium grinding without any problems.
  • Highly abrasion-resistant coating
    It is possible to choose between three different options for the coating (Vulkollan®, NBR or LongLife). In order to optimally implement the belt grinding process within the company and to optimise the service life of the return pulley coating insofar as possible, we recommend using the highly abrasion-resistant elastomer Vulkollan®:
  • Multiple possibility of new occupancy
    Deflection rollers of the FAPI-SWITCH series can be coated several times.
  • Optimum abrasive belt guide
    In order to guarantee an optimum abrasive belt guide while belt grinding, the coating of our return pulleys is convex by design. If our return pulleys are used in wet grinding, it is possible togroovethe return pulleys. The risk of aqua-planing effects during wet grinding will entirely be avoided.
  • Wide range of dimensions
    We produce our return pulleys in a wide range of diameters and widths. The standard dimensions can be supplied within just a short period of time from stock.
  • Optimum value for money
    During development of the return pulleys we placed our major focus on quality, customer benefits and an economical design. With the new return pulley FAPI-SWITCH we succeeded in achieving a balancing act between quality and customer benefits on the one hand, and an economical price structuring on the other.

Picard tip:
Companies often use return pulleys without a coating, e.g. pure metal return pulleys. Problems arise with these return pulleys after a certain period in use or with the abrasive belt guide. With the deflection of the abrasive belt on the return pulley the grinding belt grain namely presses through the abrasive belt backside and on to the surface of the return pulley. After some time the running track of the abrasive belt forms a trace on the metal body of the return pulley. This effect is intensified if (very) coarse grains are used in the grinding process. With a worn return pulley, optimum abrasive belt guidance is no longer possible.
As a counter-measure it is perhaps possible to rework/strip the metal return pulley once, however it usually reaches the end of its life cycle after a second period in use.
It is for this reason that we always recommend using an ultra wear-resistant coating on the surface of the return pulley. The life cycle of the return pulley is increased many times over as a result of this. The coating does not wear out as quickly as with a metal return pulley. At the same time, costs for a recovering of the return pulley are very low in comparison to purchasing a new pulley.

Return pulley FAPI-SWITCH (Standard version with coating of Vulkollan®)

Deflection pulleys FAPI-SWITCH are manufactured as standard with a Vulkollan® coating. The highly abrasion-resistant Vulkollan® elastomer greatly increases the service life of the idler pulley.

Advantages of a coating with Vulkollan®:

  • Excellent mechanical wear resistance and very low compression set
  • Good resistance to mineral oils, greases, benzines and various solvents

Covering: Vulkollan®

Covering hardness: 90° Shore (A)

Comments: Single or double sided shaft ends for fixation

Return pulley FAPI-SWITCH (Version with NBR-coating)

The idler pulley FAPI-SWITCH with NBR coating is an alternative to the Vulkollan® coating. However, the service life of the idler pulley with an NBR coating is significantly shorter than that of the Vulkollan® coating.

Advantages of a coating with NBR:

  • average wear resistance and low compression set
  • Good resistance to mineral oils, greases, benzines and various solvents

Covering: NBR

Covering hardness: 90° Shore (A)

Comments: Single or double sided shaft ends for fixation

Return pulley FAPI-SWITCH (Version with LongLife-coating)

The idler pulley FAPI-SWITCH LONGLIFE was designed for demanding applications. The coating of the idler pulley FAPI-SWITCH LONGLIFE has a multiple service life compared to conventional idler pulleys.

Panel type: Special LONGLIFE panelling

Comments: Single or double sided shaft ends for fixation

Picard tip:
Due to the very stable coating, FAPI-SWITCH LONGLIFE deflection rollers can also be used optimally if the grain side of the abrasive belt runs over the deflection roller coating.

Versions:
Ground: for grain side
Grey: for abrasive belt backing

Dimensions

Diameter: 100 to 250 mm

Width: 50 to 500 mm, other dimensions on request

Shaft: according to specification

Vulkollan® = registered trademark of the Covestro Group

Umlenkrollen FAPI-SWITCH

Mit der neu entwickelten FAPI-SWITCH – Serie ist es uns gelungen, Umlenkrollen in Systemleichtbauweise mit einer noch nie dagewesenen Laufruhe und Leichtgängigkeit zu konstruieren, die neue Maßstäbe im Bandschleifpozess setzen. Durch die Flexibilität, auch hinsichtlich verschiedenster Abmessungen, können Bandschlefimaschinen aller Marken mit diesen Umlenkrollen ausgestattet werden.

Produkteigenschaften

  • Systembauweise
    Die Komponenten der Umlenkrolle können in einfachster Art und Weise miteinander verschraubt werden. Bei Ausfall eines Bauteils kann dies durch einfaches Lösen der Schraubenverbindungen in kürzester Zeit ausgetauscht werden. Beispielsweise gehören ein aufwendiges „Ausbuchsen“ der Umlenkrolle oder ein komplizierter Austausch der Lager nun der Vergangenheit an.
  • Laufruhe und Leichtgängigkeit
    Die intelligente Lagerung der Umlenkrolle FAPI-SWITCH stellt das “Herzstück” dar. Höchstmögliche Laufruhe und Leichtgängigkeit während des Bearbeitungsprozesses werden dadurch gewährleistet. Die Reibung der Umlenkrolle auf ihrer Achse ist auf ein Minimum reduziert. Zusätzlich werden alle Picard-Umlenkrollen vor Auslieferung dynamisch ausgewuchtet, was ebenfalls einen großen Anteil zur Laufruhe und Leichtgängigkeit der Umlenkrolle beiträgt.
    Aus konstruktiver Sicht ist zu berücksichtigen, dass die Umlenkrolle beidseitig bündig abgeschlossen ist. Der im Bandschleifprozess entstehende Schleifstaub kann sich durch diese Gestaltung nicht innerhalb der Umlenkrolle absetzen und zu einer Unwucht des Systems führen.
  • Leichtbauweise
    Die Umlenkrolle FAPI-SWITCH wird ausschließlich aus hochwertigstem Aluminium hergestellt. Durch die Verwendung von Aluminium wird eine enorme Gewichtsreduzierung der Baugruppe Umlenkrolle erreicht. Weniger Gewicht bzw. Druck auf die Lagerungen von Umlenkrolle und Maschine führen zu einer verlängerten Standzeit der Systeme. Zusätzlicher Vorteil der Aluminiumausführung ist, dass die Umlenkrollen den Vorschriften der BGR 109 (Bürsten, Schleifen und Polieren von Aluminium) entsprechen und daher ohne Probleme für das Aluminiumschleifen eingesetzt werden können.
  • Hochabriebfester Belag
    Als Belagvarianten kann zwischen drei verschiedenen Optionen (Vulkollan®, NBR oder LongLife-Belag) entschieden werden. Um den Bandschleifprozess in den Unternehmen optimalst zu gestalten und die Standzeit des Umlenkrollenbelages auf ein Höchstmaß zu optimieren, empfehlen wir die Verwendung des hochabriebfesten Elastomers Vulkollan®.
  • Mehrmalige Möglichkeit der Neubelegung
    Umlenkrollen der FAPI-SWITCH-Serien können mehrmals beschichtet werden.
  • Optimale Schleifbandführung
    Um eine optimale Schleifbandführung beim Bandschleifen zu gewährleisten, ist der Belag der Umlenkrollen FAPI-SWITCH ballig ausgeführt. Wird die Umlenkrollen FAPI-SWITCH im Nassschliff eingesetzt, können sie gerillt werden. Somit wird die Gefahr des Aquaplaning-Effekts im Nassschliff vollständig vermieden.
  • Verschiedenste Abmessungen
    Unsere Umlenkrollen fertigen wir in den unterschiedlichsten Durchmessern und Breiten. Die Standardabmessungen können innerhalb kürzester Zeit ab Lager geliefert werden.
  • Optimales Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
    Bei der Entwicklung der Umlenkrolle FAPI-SWITCH waren für uns Qualität, Kundennutzen und eine kostengünstige Gestaltung von größter Bedeutung.

Picard-Tipp:
Oftmals werden Umlenkrollen ohne Belag, d.h. reine Metall-Umlenkrollen eingesetzt. Probleme treten bei diesen Umlenkrollen nach einer gewissen Einsatzzeit bzgl. der Schleifbandführung auf. Bei der Umlenkung des Schleifbandes an der Umlenkrolle drückt sich das Korn des Schleifbandes durch den Schleifbandträger auf die Oberfläche der Umlenkrolle. Nach einiger Zeit bildet sich die Laufspur des Schleifbandes auf dem Metallkörper der Umlenkrolle ab. Dieser Effekt wird noch verstärkt, wenn (sehr) grobe Körnungen im Schleifprozess verwendet werden. Bei einer „eingelaufenen“ Umlenkrolle ist eine optimale Schleifbandführung nicht mehr möglich.
Als Gegenmaßnahme kann die Metall-Umlenkrolle vielleicht noch einmal nachbearbeitet/überdreht werden, ist dann aber nach dem zweiten Einsatz zumeist am Ende ihres Lebenszyklus angekommen.
Aus diesem Grund empfehlen wir unbedingt die Verwendung eines hochabriebfesten Belags auf der Umlenkrolle. Der Lebenszyklus der Umlenkrolle wird dadurch um ein Vielfaches erhöht. Der Belag läuft sich nicht so schnell ein, wie bei einer Metall-Umlenkrolle. Zudem sind die Kosten für eine Neubeschichtung der Umlenkrolle gegenüber dem Neukauf als sehr gering einzustufen.

Umlenkrollen FAPI-SWITCH (Standardausführung mit Vulkollan®-Belag)

Umlenkrollen FAPI-SWITCH werden standardmäßig mit einem Belag aus Vulkollan® hergestellt. Durch das hochabriebfeste Elastomer Vulkollan® wird die Standzeit der Umlenkrolle stark erhöht.

Vorteile einer Belegung mit Vulkollan®:

  • Ausgezeichneter mechanischer Verschleißwiderstand und sehr niedriger Druckverformungsrest
  • Gute Beständigkeit gegen mineralische Öle, Fette, Benzine und verschiedene Lösungsmittel

Belagart: Vulkollan®

Belaghärte: 90° Shore (A)

Bemerkung: Ein- oder doppelseitige Wellenenden zur Fixierung

Umlenkrollen FAPI-SWITCH (Ausführung mit NBR-Belag)

Die Umlenkrolle FAPI-SWITCH mit NBR-Belag stellt eine Alternative zum Belag mit Vulkollan® dar. Die Standzeit der Umlenkrolle mit einem NBR-Belag ist gegenüber dem Belag mit Vulkollan® aber deutlich kürzer.

Vorteile einer Belegung mit NBR:

  • mittelmäßiger Verschleißwiderstand und niedriger Druckverformungsrest
  • Gute Beständigkeit gegen mineralische Öle, Fette, Benzine und verschiedene Lösungsmittel

Belagart: NBR

Belaghärte: 90° Shore (A)

Bemerkung: Ein- oder doppelseitige Wellenenden zur Fixierung

Umlenkrollen FAPI-SWITCH (Ausführung mit LongLife-Belag)

Die Umlenkrolle FAPI-SWITCH LONGLIFE wurde für anspruchsvolle Einsatzzwecke konzipiert. Der Belag der Umlenkrolle FAPI-SWITCH LONGLIFE hat eine mehrfache Standzeit gegenüber konventionellen Umlenkrollen

Belagart: Spezieller LONGLIFE-Belag

Bemerkung: Ein- oder doppelseitige Wellenenden zur Fixierung

Picard-Tipp:
Aufgrund des sehr standfesten Belages können Umlenkrollen FAPI-SWITCH LONGLIFE auch dann optimal eingesetzt werden, wenn die Kornseite des Schleifbands über den Umlenkrollenbelag läuft.

Ausführungen:
geschliffen: für Kornseite
rau: für Schleifbandrücken

Abmessungen

Durchmesser: 100 bis 250 mm

Breite: 50 bis 500 mm, weitere Abmessungen auf Anfrage

Welle: nach Vorgabe

Vulkollan® = eingetragenes Markenzeichen der Covestro Gruppe